10 FPS with GTX570

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PC 10 FPS with GTX570

I'd like to preface this by saying I'm an IT professional, meaning that I've tried just about everything under the sun and it isn't any kind of normal issue.

I've tried in 1024x768 and 1920x1080 with settings both maxed and completely minimized with vsync both on and off. I've tried letting the game decide it's settings and forcing them to performance in the Nvidia control panel. I've done a complete driver sweep and reinstalled the latest available (non-beta) drivers. I've closed every program I can close (aside from mouse/keyboard driver programs, etc). Other games (read 1 or 2 games) have done this in the past, and it's always some random thing specific to that game that has to be changed (ex: in Borderlands 2, I had to turn PhysX down a little, which I've never had to do in any other game).

So, the strange problem is that I'm getting 10fps, as you already know. I'm running a GTX570, which, from what I've read, should basically max this game out, or at LEAST run, we'll say, 30fps on bare minimum settings. My GPU usage is extremely low (~10%), but my CPU usage is not maxed out either (~60-80%, around 35% of which is NOT the game). I have tried the windowed option and the noblur option. I have an AMD Phenom II X4 3.4ghz CPU. I'm running Windows 8 Professional 64-bit.

Can anyone help? Obviously, the game should be using a LOT more of my GPU that it's not using, but I have no idea how to make it do so.

[SIZE="5"]Summary[/SIZE]
    10 FPS consistently
    Absolute minimum settings
    Tried all the normal stuff
    GTX570
    AMD Phenom II X4 3.4ghz
    Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
    10% GPU Usage
    80% CPU Usage (~35% of which is NOT the game)
    Does not happen in (almost all) other games
    Has happened in the past once or twice, usually weird fix (Turn PhysX down in Borderlands 2 due to being CPU bound; not CPU bound here, so not the solution)