This is a rant

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• iOS This is a rant

On December 16th at 3:00pm, I was the happiest big kid on the planet. At 3:10pm, I began to sour.

I've been a massive fan of Death Rally since it first came out for DOS. It was a great game with lots of character. Some may even say it was the precursor to Twisted Metal for PlayStation and many other combat racing games.

So, when the new version came out for iOS, I jumped on board.

Being a software developer myself, I pay for applications and games that I find useful and entertaining. There is a tremendous amount of effort that goes into making these games run with stability while also so bring pretty to the eyes and entertaining.

I shelled out my $4.99 knowing I would thoroughly enjoy the single player campaign and anxiously awaited the promised multiplayer functionality.

Then, the price was dropped to 99¢.

A brand new game, discounted to one-fifth of what I paid for it. Not impressed. But, I am sure publishers have their reasons for doing this.

However, I would call this Remedy's Marlboro Friday.

Multiplayer in its entirety has been released as part of version 2.0 and now it all makes sense. This is what I have come up with...

- Develop game playing on the nostalgia of mid-20s to early-30s males.
    - Post said game on the App Store with a premium price tag ($4.99 isn't much, but it is to iOS device owners).
    - Don't sell as many 'copies' as hoped and deeply discount the product in order to flood the marketplace.
    - Still promise multiplayer in the future just as you did before, with no mention of In-App Purchases.
    - Release multiplayer, locking almost half of the upgradable items.
    - Make up your lost revenue on the price drop through the In-App Purchases in multiplayer and laugh all the way to the proverbial bank.