No announcement yet.

May 18th = Release date of Alan Wake and..................

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • May 18th = Release date of Alan Wake and..................

    The new Black Keys album May 18th will be sssssooooo great. The albums name is brothers. Heres the tracklisting and more info.

    « Chris Johnson’s Live Video Archive of The Black KeysThe Black Keys’ Slower, Down Tempo Songs »Brothers: The Black Keys New Album out May 18, 2010
    Feb 23rd, 2010 by brucini

    The Black Keys new album is to be called ‘Brothers’ and will be released May 18.

    This info on the Black Keys album came from WEA Release schedule that’s made available to music retail accounts.

    2/17/2010 The Black Keys Brothers 520266 CD Added to 5/18/10

    The original reportage was from here.

    Updated 3/3/10…

    Told you so. The release date and name has been officially confirmed.

    Danger Mouse, who produced the band’s last album ‘Attack And Release’, has produced one song (‘Tighten Up’) recorded at Brooklyn’s Bunker Studios.

    As previously reported the bulk of the album was recorded at Muscle Shoals Sound Studio with Mark Neill.

    The album features a cover of Jerry Butler’s ‘Never Gonna Give You Up’.

    Billboard reports the album is highlighted by ‘Next Girl’, a Zeppelin-y blast of fuzzed-out guitar, and ‘Howlin’ for You’, which features a “da da da” chant and a drum beat akin to Gary Glitter’s glam-rock classic ‘Rock and Roll (Part Two)’.

    A 12″ single ‘Howling For You’ will be released on Record Store Day in the USA on 17 April 2010.

    Quotes from their press release:

    Pat Carney:

    Dan [Auerbach, fellow band member] and I grew up a lot as individuals and musicians prior to making this album. Our relationship was tested in many ways but at the end of the day, we’re brothers, and I think these songs reflect that.

    Dan Auerbach:

    We like spooky sounds…like Alice Coltrane, where a dark groove is laid down. That’s the headspace we tried to get into for this record

    Pat on Tchad Blake mixing the album:

    We are big fans of Tchad Blake. The way he approaches mixing is the same way we approach making music. Respecting the past while being in the present. The mixes he did for us on Blakroc impressed us so much we knew he had to mix Brothers.

    Official track listing:

    01 Everlasting Light
    02 Next Girl
    03 Tighten Up
    04 Howlin’ for You
    05 She’s Long Gone
    06 Black Mud
    07 The Only One
    08 Too Afraid to Love You
    09 Ten Cent Pistol
    10 Sinister Kid
    11 The Go Getter
    12 I’m Not the One
    13 Unknown Brother
    14 Never Gonna Give You Up
    15 These Days

  • #2
    Re: May 18th = Release date of Alan Wake and..................

    The Black Keys - Rubber Factory is one of my favourite albums.
    Sarah Breaker > Barry Wheeler. Yep, I went there!